Recognizing Excellence – The American Pharmacists Association

American Pharmacists Association pic
American Pharmacists Association

An oncology pharmacist at the Markey Cancer Center, Sherif Mohamed El-Refai is studying pharmaceutical sciences with a focus on clinical and experimental therapeutics at the University of Kentucky. Sherif Mohamed El-Refai also is a member of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).

Committed to advancing patient care, advocating for the profession, and helping members strengthen their careers, APhA is open to the industry’s students, practitioners, and scientists. With over 62,000 members nationwide, the association was founded in 1852 as the American Pharmaceutical Association. It continues to offer a range of benefits, from continuing education programs and advocacy work to outreach and practice tools for professionals. Additionally, APhA’s comprehensive recognition program grants a number of awards and honors each year.

Apart from profession-wide awards, such as the Distinguished New Practitioner Award and the Good Government Pharmacist of the Year Award, APhA grants specialized awards for scientific and practitioner excellence. For example, the Ebert Prize, the country’s oldest pharmacy award, is given for the best written work published in the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Another award, the APhA-APPM Pharmacy Management Excellence Award, is determined by a nominee’s work with APhA-related activities, community service, and his or her impact on the field of pharmacy management as a whole. Pharmacy students also are eligible for a variety of awards and scholarships, with special recognition for outstanding achievement and student leadership.